Racing Close

Advanced Engineering Close

Conference Centre Close

Heritage Close



Car: FW07C was used for the first 3 races and then the FW08 was used.
Engine: Cosworth V8
Drivers: Keke Rosberg, Carlos Reutemann, Derek Daly, Mario Andretti
GPs contested: 16
Wins: 1
Podiums: 7
Poles: 1
Fastest laps: 0
Constructors’ Championship: 4th, 58 points
Drivers’ Championship: Rosberg, 1st; Reutemann, 15th; Daly 13th; Andretti 19th 


Fastest Lap 0
Poles 1
Wins 1
Podiums 7
Car FW07C & FW08
Engine Cosworth V8


Consistency wins Rosberg the world title; he takes only one victory en route to sealing the championship by five points. The team’s other FW08 is shared by three drivers: Reutemann, Derek Daly and Mario Andretti. Reutemann finishes second in the season-opener in South Africa, but he retires from driving after the second race and Daly takes over the car. Andretti makes a guest appearance at Long Beach. Jonathan Palmer becomes test driver for what is a huge development season at Williams. It develops a four-wheel-drive, six-wheeled F1 car for 1983, but the technology is banned before the team has a chance to race it. Palmer still holds a speed record around Goodwood circuit in this car. Away from F1, Williams also designs and builds the first three Metro 6RA rally car prototypes.


Keke Rosberg’s tenacious victory at Dijon, or his second place in Austria, where he finished just 0.050s behind winner Elio de Angelis.


There were 11 winners from 16 races in 1982. A record.